America me hand brake nahi hota

11Jan08

I bought myself 4 wheels around a month ago.

While I have driven a little earlier, that driving is at best forgettable. My close relatives might not forget that easily since it was their pockets that I burnt but we are digressing here.

The car was parked in the multi level car park in office. I chose a time when I thought no one would be around. Saturday evening 5 PM to actually attempt to bring it home.

As expected when I reached there, there was no one except one cab driver and his cab about 200 ft away from my car. Perfecto. No one will ever know.

Slid (it’s a small car and I am big) into the car. Slam gear into reverse and press accelarator. Screeching sound. No movement. Hmm, press accelarator harder. More screeching. Slow movement.

Did the guy I bought it from cheat me ? He seemed nice.

Press accelarator more.More screeching. Knock on the window. Shift to neutral. Roll window down.

Damn how did this driver 200 ft away notice ?

“Saab sab theek to hai?”

“Haan haan, kyon kya hua?”

“Hand brake laga hua hai”

Shit shit.Β  Have to come up with smart explanation.

With accent- Amrekin style.

“Oh haan, America me hand brake hota hi nahi hai”- What the! Did I just say that !

“achi baat hai saab”

Have to explain this to him in more detail and convince him.

“Arey aap ne to dekha hi hoga ..ye gaadi pichle 3 mahino se yaha mlcp me hi hai”

“Saab 3 din se dikh rahi hai”

Bloody did he make the car park his house or what.

“Acha ok ok, thank you ab aadat aa jayegi”

Go out of his view. Park car. LOL for about 10 minutes reliving what I just did.

PS: Free pick and drop facility for those in Hyd. Make sure you have insurance though πŸ˜‰

13 Responses to “America me hand brake nahi hota”

  1. lol … ofcourse amreeka mein gear handle bhi nahin hota πŸ˜›

  2. and you are telling this now. i have rode in your car twice (btw, u ride well). U should have told then. U are funnier while spaking .. u should podcast πŸ˜‰ .

  3. lol … u did not wait for Nano πŸ˜‰

  4. πŸ™‚ Jaya.. roj subah ghar se office chhodne ka kitna loge..
    waise if you would have waited for a couple of month.. you would have had 3 cars (nano) in the same price πŸ™‚ .. each one for a different day..

  5. ha ha. cool!

  6. 7 Rao

    Hand brakes hote hain …. or rather uska counter part to hota hai…

  7. Haha. Makes me feel better. Yesterday I must’ve applied 7-8 kicks before realising that the ignition of the bike was in ‘off’ position. 😦 πŸ˜€

  8. ROFL MAO !!!

    seriously u shud podcast !! the skills of an Orator …

  9. lol … good one πŸ™‚

  10. πŸ™‚
    atleast u refrained urself to the hand brake. I thought u will end up with “amrika mein reverse gear nahi hota” πŸ˜€

    u still taking driving lessons .. waise u shud sell this car +nippo’s bike (as a free gift) +transportation for the bike and i guess us hud be able to get a brand new nano :p

    and yeah you dont need to reverse the nano, for ur size .. you can just pick it up and spin πŸ˜‰

  11. Lol.. Long live your blog!!!

  12. A little late in the day, but surprised that you have a whole category on stupidity on your blog πŸ˜› What does that say about you? πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

